Organisational Structure

Governing Body (GB)

As per the Rules & Regulations and Byelaws of the Centre (jointly laid down by the two Governments) the Centre is governed by a Governing Body consisting of five Indian members and five French members nominated by their respective governments. The Governing Body meets once a year and is responsible for overall financial, administrative and policy related matter of the Centre. The 30th meeting of the Governing Body is expected to be held on 6th March, 2017 in France.


Scientific Council (SC)

As stipulated by the Rules & Regulations and Byelaws of the Centre, the Centre has a Scientific Council with five members from each country nominated by their respective Governments for a period of two years, which can be extended for another term of two years. The Scientific Council guides all scientific programmes of the Centre, including choosing scientific areas of research, evaluation and selection of proposals for collaborative research projects along with seminars and monitoring of ongoing and completed programmes.The 58th meeting of the Scientific Council was held from 23-25th November, 2016 in India.


Industrial Research Committee (IRC)

The Industrial Research Committee consists of three members from each side. The Committee guides in soliciting good proposals, identification of topics/themes for organization of seminars, visit to industrial clusters to explore possibilities of future collaborative projects, discussion with industry association to evolve methodologies for collaborative industrial research projects. The 29th meeting of the IRC was held from 26-27th November, 2016 in India. The Scientific Council & Industrial Research Council meets twice in a year, alternately in India and France.



The Director of CEFIPRA is an Indian national appointed by the Governing Body for a period of 3 years. He/she is responsible for the implementation of the decisions of the Governing Body and is in charge of the normal activities and obligations of the Centre. The Director is supported by scientific, administrative and accounts personnel at the Centre.